The Apple cloud, called by the iCloud company, is used for many things more than a traditional cloud. Apple saves a lot of information about us in iCloud, such as photos, passwords, calendars and many other options, such as the ability to remotely lock one of our devices.
Blocking a device like an iPhone or an iPad by iCloud is something relatively simple that can be done for various reasons. Let’s analyze why someone could block an iPhone by iCloud and how to know if an Apple device is blocked with this tool.
What is iCloud?
Apple presented its renewed service in the cloud, iCloud, at the global developer conference held on June 6, 2011. The new service replaced the old MobileMe and gives all Apple users a space on the servers of the company’s 5 GB that they can use for what they want.
This 5 GB of data is used to save backup copies of your devices, to save application data or directly upload the files you want. If we need more storage space, Apple gives us the option to improve it by means of a monthly subscription.
But in addition to all this, Apple introduced a tool within iCloud called Find My iPhone, or Find my iPhone if we write it in English. Thanks to this option, iCloud allows us to track the location of the iPhone, iPod touch or iPad, show the approximate location on a map, display a message or emit a sound on the device, erase its contents and block it remotely.
Why block an iPhone by iCloud?
The main reason that can lead us to block an iPhone, or any other iOS device, by iCloud, is because we have lost it or stolen it. This way we make sure that thieves cannot access it or unlock it in any way. It is a way to protect our data, our photos and to increase the chances that they will return it to us.
If the thieves, or someone who finds your iPhone, cannot do anything with it, it’s much more likely to be returned to its rightful owner by finding it thanks to Find My iPhone. Blocking an iPhone by iCloud is very simple:
- At first, go to the iCloud official website.
- Enter your Apple ID.
- Click on Search.
- Click on the iPhone and then on the “i”.
- Click on “Lost Mode” and fill in the contact information.
In addition, the iPhone lock by iCloud is somewhat reversible, if you have lost the device and you manage to find it, thanks to the tools that Apple offers, you can unlock the iPhone blocked by iCloud with your Apple ID password.
What happens if an iPhone is blocked by iCloud?
When an iOS device is blocked by iCloud it becomes totally useless. At first, it was possible to unlock an iPhone blocked by iCloud by restoring the software, but for a few years, this has been useless.
Even if someone finds our iPhone and tries to unlock it, in order to use it, you must enter your Apple email and password. Without these two data, the iPhone or iPad blocked by iCloud will not work or you can access any application or device function.
Unlocking an iPhone with iCloud lock is not an easy task and, although there are websites that claim to be able to do so, I would not trust them. The iPhone should only be unlocked by its owner, so if you have found an iPhone blocked it is best to contact him.
How to check if an iPhone is blocked by iCloud?
A second-hand market is a place where thousands of iPhones are purchased every day and it is a way to get an Apple device at a much more affordable price, or a way to acquire it if it is not yet sold in your country.
However, you can always have the doubt if they are cheating you and in reality, they are selling you a device blocked by iCloud. Fortunately, there are tools that let you know if an iPhone is blocked very easily.
In this way you will be able to know if the iPhone you are going to buy is blocked by iCloud, you only have to request the IMEI of the device and in just 5 minutes you will know if you should or should not buy it.